Peter Fidler and the Metis, paper ed


Peter Fidler and the Métis is an excellent primer on Métis history and culture for senior elementary students. Donna Lee Dumont is a Métis descendent of the Red River settlers and she wrote and illustrated this 28-page resource. She begins with the personal story of Peter Fidler (1769-1822), an English man who joined the Hudson's Bay Company for a five-year contract as a labourer. While he resided at York Factory, Fidler was promoted to the post's journal writer.

Price: $15.00

Diamond Willow Walking Stick: A Traditional Métis Story about Generosity, The, paper ed


The Diamond Willow Walking Stick: A Traditional Métis Story about Generosity; Li kaan di sool: aen nistwayr di Mi chif li taan kayaash taanishi aen ishi maykihk is one of the finalists for the First Nation Communities Read 2014–15 selection. This children's book is a 48-page bilingual story by Métis storyteller and author Leah Marie Dorion. The story explores a Métis Elder's remembrances of traditional teachings about generosity that were taught to him by his grandparents during his childhood.

Price: $15.00

Games of Survival: Traditional Inuit Games for Elementary Students, paper ed


Games of Survival: Traditional Inuit Games for Elementary Students written by Inuk athlete Johnny Issaluk. In 59 pages the author and publisher, Inhabit Media, have created an important resource book for students at the junior and intermediate levels. Brief, easy to read instructions, along with colour photographs of Inuit children and youth playing each of the 10 endurance, strength, and agility games provides an accurate introduction to the Inuit of the Arctic. A brief introduction informs the reader about the purpose of each category of game.

Price: $12.95

When I Was Eight, hardcover ed


When I was Eight is the 32-page picture book adaptation of Margaret Pokiak-Fenton's book, Fatty Legs: A True Story. Margaret and her daughter-in-law, Christy Jordan-Fenton have adapted Margaret's childhood story about her life in a residential school when she was a child. This picture book memoir begins with Olemaun (the stone that sharpens the women’s knife, the ulu) living on the land with her family. Her older sister has attended residential school and brought back a special book about a girl named Alice. Olemaun wants to attend this school too. Reluctantly her father agrees.

Price: $21.95

Giant Bear: An Inuit Folktale, The, hardcover ed


The Giant Bear: An Inuit Folktale is a 2012 picture book from Inhabit Media written by Jose Angutinngurniq, Inuk author and storyteller. With Manga-like illustrations by Eva Widermann this 34-page picture book tells the exciting story of an Inuk hunter’s efforts to kill the giant polar bear or nanurluk. These bears lived long ago and were often covered by icy fur coats that resisted Inuit hunters’ spears. These were fearsome creatures and this traditional story recounts an Inuk hunter’s adventure. The man and his wife lived on the land in their snow house or iglu.

Price: $13.95

No Borders: Kigliqangittuq, hardcover ed


No Borders: Kigliqangittuq is the 2013 title in Fifth House Publishing's The Land Is Our Storybook series. This popular series is designed to highlight one of the official Aboriginal language groups in the Northwest Territories.  The book presents information about the people and communities of Kugluktuk, Nunavut and Ulukhaktok, NWT. Although recently divided by the border between the two territories the communities share a common ancestry and their language called Inuinnaqtun. In this 34-page photo essay information book readers meet 16-year old Darla Evyagotailak and her extended family.

Price: $19.95

Rainbow Crow Nagweyaabi-Aandeg, hardcover ed(unavailable ...reprinting summer 2018)


Rainbow Crow Nagweyaabi-Aandeg is the 2012 bilingual picture book by Métis storyteller and author David Bouchard retelling of a traditional Lenape story. The story is set long ago before two leggeds walked on Mother Earth. There was a great cold and the animals formed a council to discuss the matter. They decided someone had to seek help from the Creator. Rainbow Crow, a most colourful bird, was selected because she had a beautiful voice that would surely impress the Creator. She flew into the heavens and won fire from above.

Price: $24.95

Chickadee, hardcover ed


Continuing the series that began with The Birchbark House, The Game of Silence and The Porcupine Year, Chickadee follows a brand new character, Omakayas's grandson Chickadee. It's 1866 and just like the bird that is his namesake, Chickadee is small and clever. When Chickadee's twin brother pranks Shigaag, the Ojibwe Nation's ne'er-do-well, Shigaag's unruly, bumbling sons kidnap Chickadee as revenge. He's taken farther from home than he's ever been. But Chickadee is not afraid because he remembers the saying his grandmother taught him: small things have great power.

Price: $21.00

Rabbit and Bear Paws Sacred Seven (set of 7 books), paper ed


Rabbit and Bear Paws Sacred Seven is a new picture book series created by Chad Solomon, Tanya Leary, and Christopher Meyer. The seven picture books contain the characters, 12-year-old Rabbit, 10-year-old Bear Paws, and 11-year-old Strawberry, developed by Chad Solomon in his The Adventures of Rabbit and Bear Paws graphic novel offerings. This new selection contains seven stand alone titles each one based on one of the Seven Grandfather Teachings: Courage, Honesty, Humility, Love, Respect, Truth, and Wisdom.

Price: $83.65